Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible for publicizing available scholarships and grants and selecting the recipients of any scholarship and grants offered by NMLA. The committee coordinates, sponsors, co-sponsors or participates with the many groups that engage in continuing education in New Mexico; create and maintain an awareness and sense of need for continuing education of library staff members on the part of individuals, employers and professional associations; and sponsor/carry out a recruiting program in New Mexico. They work closely with the New Mexico State Library in planning and publicizing continuing education programs, not only in New Mexico, but wherever opportunities for New Mexico library staff members may exist.

Scholarship recipients are recognized at the Awards Banquet at the Annual Conference.  The Education Chair needs to coordinate with the Awards Chair before the end of January to make sure of Awards Banquet program deadlines.

Past Education Committee Chairs:

2011-13: Keven Comerford, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque

2001-02: Cindy Watkins

1987-88: Sandra Jean White, Portales Public Library

1986-87: Alana McGrattan, Santa Fe Indian School Library

1984-85: Karen Watkins

1983-84: Marsha Dreier

Board Reports

Winter 2016 Education Committee Report

Spring 2016 Education Committee Report

Summer 2016 Education Committee Report